Some of my favorite music from 2010

I thought I’d share some of the music I discovered in 2010 with my friends on Amplify, Facebook, Twitter and Tumbler. By no means is this list exhaustive or especially insightful. I’m neither a musician nor a critic, just a music lover.

My list is pretty eclectic. It meanders from Hip Hop and R&B to indie and retro-60s-sounding garage bands to way-out-there experimental stuff. Some of the songs aren’t even new in the universal sense but they are new to me.

The links are to YouTube videos. Some of the content is explicit, so be careful of young ears.

(Disclaimer: This is the first time I’ve tried to put so many links in a blog post. I tested most of them, but if some don’t work or go to the wrong song, sorry.

Here goes:

Dum Dum GirlsJail La La and Longhair.

Janelle Monae caught me flat-footed with her mightily ambitious 2010 release ArchAndroid. Here’s a sampling that shows how many styles she tackles. WondalandMushroom and RosesCold War, Come AliveFaster and Sir Greendown.

Joanna Newsom (Her 2010 release wasn’t as strange, perhaps weird or mind-bending is a better word, as Ys <2006>, but it was very good): Good Intentions Paving Company.

Four Tet: Circling

Yes, it’s from 1972 or thereabouts, but I just discovered Let It Loose and I Just Want to See His Face by the Rolling Stones, off of Exile on Main Street. I know. I know. I’m 38 years late. But these songs are new to me.

Ghostface Killah (Oh yeah, this Wu-Tang Clan is so freaking cool it’s almost criminal.): Ghetto and In Tha Park.

Deerhunter: Desire Lines, Revival and Primitive 3D

Big Boi: Tangerine, Fo Yo Sorrows featuring funk legend George Clinton.

Gil Scott Heron (his new stuff is amazing): Me and the Devil, I’m New Here, New York is Killing Me.

Owen Pallett: The Great Elsewhere AND Lewis Takes off his Shirt (Talk about dedication to his music and fans. He played through a storm on this video.)

Aloe Blacc: I Need a Dollar and Green Lights

Forest Swords (this is pretty experimental stuff): If Your GirlHoylake Misst and Glory Gongs

How to Dress Well: Decisions

Lower Dens: I Get Nervous, Rosie, Two Cocks

Black Keys: Next GirlEverlasting Light, Black Mud

LCD SoundsystemDance Yrself CleanI Can Change

Mavis Staples: Last Train, Only the Lord Knows, Wrote a Song for Everyone

Aloha: Moonless March

Black Hollies: Number Ten Girl, Gloomy Monday Morning

The National: Terrible Love

Flying Lotus: Do the Astral Plane

Leave a Reply

